Zambales lauds top performing municipal councils

SUBIC BAY FREEPORT — Top performers among the municipal councils in the 13 towns of Zambales received recognition on Friday for their crucial role in community development and good governance, as the provincial government launched its local legislative awards with some P2 million in total cash prizes.

In a ceremony held at the Subic Bay Exhibition and Convention Center (SBECC) here, Governor Hermogenes Ebdane Jr. handed out the awards and praised local legislators for demonstrating good practices, enhancing service delivery, shaping communities through economic development, and creating an enabling environment for business and job creation.

“All these contribute to achieving our long-term vision for our province and for the nation,” he added.

A total of 16 awards were given to outstanding town councils following an assessment of their performance from 2019 to 2022.

The review was conducted last August 7 to 24 by personnel of the Zambales provincial office of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG).

The best performers among the 13 town councils in the province are the following: 

• Masinloc — 4th Best Performing Local Sanggunian, 1st-3rd Class Municipalities Category. The Masinloc SB received a plaque of recognition and P100,000 cash prize.

 Gov. Hermogenes Ebdane Jr. (second right) presents the “Maagap” Award to Masinloc Vice Mayor Pedro Enciso during the launch of the Zambales local legislative awards on Friday, Sept. 22. Also in photo are: Zambales Vice Mayors League president Joan D. Ballesteros, Zambales Mayors League president Jeffrey Khonghun, and Masinloc councilor Jun Edaño Asuncion.

• Castillejos — 3rd Best Performing Local Sanggunian, 1st-3rd Class Municipalities Category, plaque of recognition and P200,000 cash; 

• Iba — 2nd Best Performing Local Sanggunian, 1st-3rd Class Municipalities Category; plaque of recognition and P300,000 cash; 

• San Felipe — Most Outstanding Local Sanggunian for 4th-6th Class Municipalities Category; plaque of recognition and P400,000 cash; and 

• Subic – Most Outstanding Local Sanggunian for 1st-3rd Class Municipalities Category; plaque of recognition and P400,000 cash.

The awards committee headed by DILG provincial director Martin Porres Moral also handed out special awards to town councils with specific exemplary performances:

•  Castillejos and San Marcelino — “Malasakit” Pillar Award, for creating ordinances and resolutions concerning gender and development and vulnerable groups; 

• Subic — Most Effective Sangguniang Bayan, for having the most dynamic process that requires the commitment, cooperation and effective leadership of council members, which is focused on serving the best interest of the public;

• Iba — ‘Pagbabago’ Pillar Award, for displaying the highest number of legislative actions that emphasize change and transformation in various aspects of Philippine society;

• San Marcelino — Most Noteworthy Innovative Sangguniang Bayan, for having the most effective mechanisms of carrying out its duties in implementing legislative processes;

• Iba — “Patuloy na Pag-Unlad” Award – for having the greatest number of passed ordinances and resolutions that promote increased potential growth which consist of strategies in enhancing the factors necessary to accelerate and sustain growth and development;

• Subic — Best in Records Management, for standing out in records-keeping as it is essential for the Sangguniang Bayan to effectively organize and maintain information such as minutes, ordinances, resolutions, and other necessary documents, while being compliant with changing regulations;

• Palauig — Best Legislative Office Set-up, for having the most ideal legislative workspace that is practical, efficient, and conducive to the working environment and considers the specific needs and goals of the legislative body and community it serves;

Zambales Vice Governor Jacqueline Rose Khonghun presents the ZEAL Award for the 3rd Best Performing Local Sanggunian, 1st-3rd Class Municipalities Category, to Castillejos mayor Jeffrey Khonghun and other municipal officials during the launch of the Zambales local legislative awards on Friday, Sept. 22.

• Castillejos — Most Responsive Legislative Agenda, for having the most responsive legislative agenda which addresses the evolving needs and priorities of the community it serves;

• Masinloc — “Maagap” Award, for having demonstrated commitment by adhering to the required timeline in the submission of ordinances and resolutions to the higher sanggunian, and their responsiveness in acting upon the ordinances and resolutions submitted by the lower sanggunian;

• Subic — Most Efficient Sangguniang Bayan, for having worked toward achieving greater efficiency in its legislative and oversight functions for the benefit of the local community;

• Masinloc — Most Empowered Legislative Staff, for valuing the knowledge and skills of their personnel and acknowledge their crucial role in the smooth functioning of the body which is essential in the effective implementation of legislative agenda, and for demonstrating that personnel empowerment can make meaningful contributions to the overall legislative process.

With the awards, Ebdane said his administration hopes to achieve his vision for a first-class province that is driven by inclusive growth, sustainable development, and effective good governance resulting in community empowerment and self-reliance among Zambaleños.

“We need to see more forward-thinking, responsive, and competent local legislators as our staunch partners in effecting developmental and transformational change in our province,” the governor also reminded the Sanggunian members.

Among those who helped Ebdane hand out the awards were DILG Provincial Director Martin Porres Moral; Iba Vice Mayor Joan D. Ballesteros, president of the Zambales Vice Mayors’ League; San Narciso Councilor Peter Lim, president of the Zambales Councilors’ League; Vice Governor Jacqueline Khonghun; Mayor Jeffrey Khonghun, president of the Zambales Mayors’ League; and members of the Zambales provincial board.



More Stories