The Philippines Graphic, BusinessMirror, and Pilipino Mirror congratulate poet and literary critic Gemino H. Abad and screenwriter and novelist Ricky Lee for being conferred the Order of National Artist for Literature and Film & Broadcast, respectively, for 2022.

Mabuhay ang Literaturang Pilipino!

Superstar Nora Aunor, winner of various local and international best actress awards, was bestowed the National Artist for Film and Broadcast Arts, together with Lee and the late movie director Marilou Diaz-Abaya.

Aunor had been an almost perennial nominee for National Artist.

Acclaimed artists who made it to the 2022 National Artist roster included: famed choreographer Agnes D. Locsin (National Artist for Dance), Salvacion-Lim Higgins (National Artist for Fashion Design), coloratura soprano Fides Cuyugan-Asensio (National Artist for Music), and the late veteran actor and director Antonio “Tony” Mabesa (National Artist for Theater).



More Stories