Speaker Romualdez Keynotes Veterans Bank Stockholders’ Meeting

PASAY CITY – Over 3,000 stockholders attended the Annual Stockholders’ Meeting (ASM) of medium-sized lender Philippine Veterans Bank (PVB) held last 11 June 2024 at the SMX Convention Center. Simultaneous with the meeting, the elections for the Bank’s Board of Directors and as well as for the members of the Board of Trustees of the Veterans of World War II (BTVWWII) were also held and winners were announced in the afternoon of the same day.

Chairman Roberto F. De Ocampo, OBE and by President and CEO Renato Claravall updated and apprised attending shareholders, many of whom came from the provinces, on the latest developments about the Bank. The Bank’s leadership also laid out PVB’s strategies and directions for the rest of the year to the attending shareholders. Both Chairman De Ocampo and President Claravall received fresh mandates to lead the Bank’s Board.

For the second consecutive year, the Hon. Ferdinand Martin G. Romualdez, Speaker of the House of Representatives, graced the ASM and delivered a keynote signifying his belief in the continuing growth and progress of the Bank as well as lending his support to PVB. Speaker Romualdez was one of the key government officials who worked for the passage of Republic Act 11597 or the Philippine Veterans Bank Act of 2021. 

Aside from Speaker Romualdez, the ASM was also attended by AFP Chief of Staff General Romeo S. Brawner, Jr. and Deputy Treasurer Eduardo Anthony G. Mariño III representing Department of Finance Secretary Ralph G.  Recto as Special Guests.

Aside from Chairman De Ocampo and President Claravall, re-elected to the PVB Board were Mr. Gerardo Manuel Luis B. Anonas, Ms. Josephine Diana K. Calatrava, Mr. Francisco S. Magsajo Jr., Jose A. Nuñez, Jr., Ms. Percianita G. Racho, Mr. Cesar A. Rubio, Ms. Ma. Cecilia G. Soriano, PLtGen. Reynaldo V. Velasco (Ret.). Also elected to the Board were the new directors Mr. Anthony M. Te, Mr. Alfredo S. Panlilio and Atty. Carlos Alfonso T. Ocampo who were first elected during the Bank’s Special Stockholders’ Meeting in March this year.

Also elected during the ASM were the members of the Board of Trustees of the Veterans of World War II (BTVWWII). Winning seats for a one-year term were Mr. Edwin J. San Miguel, Engr. Elisor M. Nierva, Dr. Ma. Melissa M. Poot, Dr. Marilyn Y. Esguerra, Ms. Myra A. Doncila, Gen. Reynaldo R. Alcasid (Ret.), Gen. Jaime S. Delos Santos (Ret.), Atty. Salacnib I. Tulingan, Mr. Eduardo P. Pilapil, Gen. William B. Esplana (Ret.) and Ms. Rosela H. De Ocampo. Through the BTVWWII, PVB is able to provide for the welfare and benefit of veterans and their families through grants-in-aid used for educational, social, charitable, and rehabilitation purposes. 



More Stories