National Artists to lead in NJLA 2024

- Advertisement -

Three of the country’s National Artists will be on hand to lead close to a hundred short story writers and poets in celebrating the 2024 Nick Joaquin Literary Awards (NJLA) this coming May 7.

NJLA 2024 will be held at the 6th floor, SAMSUNG HALL, SM Aura Premier in Taguig City and will be headlined by 2022 National Artist for Film and Broadcast Ricky Lee, 2022 National Artist for Literature Gemino Abad, and 2006 National Artist for the Visual Arts Benedicto Reyes Cabrera, better known as “BenCab.”

Named after the late National Artist for Literature and former Philippines Graphic editor-in-chief Nick Joaquin, the NJLA will give tribute to the outstanding works of some 82 short fictionists and poets whose works were published in the Philippines Graphic Reader, the companion literary magazine of the Philippines Graphic.

The Graphic Reader is the only monthly magazine in the country today that is completely devoted to publishing short stories and poems written in English by budding and veteran Filipino writers and poets.

Every month, it features in its pages four short stories and four poems selected from literary submissions to the magazine—matched by the colorful illustrations of visual artists that grace its covers, with support from Graphic Reader Creative Director Ed Davad and Creative Design Consultant Ces Cabangon.

The marriage of creative word and visual artistry is celebrated in NJLA 2024 with an exhibit of all 12 Philippines Graphic Reader covers, rendered by talented illustrators Randy Constantino and Ardie Aquino. The Graphic Reader’s inside illustrations are done by noted visual artist Jimbo Albano.

All 82 short story writers and poets whose literary works were featured in the Philippine Graphic Reader’s 2nd cycle (February 2023 to January 2024) are the NJLA Graphic Salute Awardees for 2024.

From the published literary works of the 82 short fictionists and poets will be selected the top three winners in the short story category and the Poet of the Year.

Celebrated short story writer, novelist, essayist, and academician Jose “Butch” Dalisay is the chair of the NJLA 2024 Board of Judges. Co-judges are multi-awarded fictionist Susan Lara and multi-awarded Graphic Reader tri-lingual editor Marra PL. Lanot.



There are 45 Graphic Salute Awardees for the Short Story. They include (in alphabetical order): A. B. Abillar, Juaniyo Arcellana, Rita Avila, Ian Rosales Casocot, Calvin Castillo, Michelle F. Chedjou, Jhoanna Lynn B. Cruz, Kristin Cruz, Dante O. Cuales Jr., Nestor Cuartero, R. Joseph Dazo, Noelle Q. de Jesus, M. A. Del Rosario, Karl R. De Mesa, Glenn L. Diaz, Ma. Ceres P. Doyo, U.Z. Eliserio, Rosario A. Garcellano, Richard A. Giye, Jonell Segador Gregorio, Kiff Joshua, Jefferson Limos, I.S.A. Crisostomo-Lopez, Theresa Yaptenco-Loyloy, Benson Lucero, Joseph Anthony Montecillo, Diana B. Noche, Homer Novicio, Carla M. Pacis, Aurelio A. Peña, Kannika Claudine D. Peña, E. Agnes Puerto, Danton Remoto, Ninotchka Rosca, Zosimo Quibilan Jr., Raymund P. Reyes, Melissa Salva, Ramon C. Sunico, Gil Marvel Tabucanon, Yvette Tan, Tristan Dyln Tano, Joel H. Vega, Kelly Baños Vergel de Dios, Achinette Villamor, and Criselda Yabes

For Poetry, the 39 Graphic Salute Awardees for NJLA 2024 are (in alphabetical order): Miguel Agcaoili, Michellan Sarile-Alagao, Mila D. Aguilar (deceased), Cathy Sanchez Babao, Jona Branzuela Bering, Cecilia Manguerra Brainard, Rofel G. Brion, Skarlet Brown, F. Jordan Carnice, Isidoro M. Cruz, Alice M. Sun-Cua, Nestor Cuartero, Totel de Jesus, Noel Romero del Prado, Byron Diaz, Ma. Ceres Doyo, Simeon Dumdum Jr., Nestor Felix, Nena Gajudo-Fernandez, Gretchen Filart, Selya Gonzales, Ramil Digal Gulle, Khavn, Marne Kilates, Fe P.Koons, Babeth Lolarga, Paolo Manalo, Luchie Maranan, Jeric Olay, Rochit I. Tañedo, Merlita Lorena Tariman, Pablo A. Tariman, Grace Torrecampo, Ana Celia A. Ver-Papa, Ria Rebolledo, D. M. Reyes, Angelo Suarez, Niccolo Rocamora Vitug, and Hope Sabanpan-Yu




More Stories